The IOP-Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship in Physics

Nominations are open for postdoctoral fellowships between two cities, Berlin and Beijing, as part of a joint physics program between the Integrative Research Institute for the Sciences (IRIS Adlershof) of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU Berlin) and the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, (IOP) Beijing.


Established in 2020, the prestigious two-year research fellowships are intended for exceptional early-career scientists, in preparation for an independent career in research at the frontier of condensed matter physics, quantum materials or device physics. Successful candidates will spend one year in Berlin and one in Beijing at the research groups of their choice, supported by up to 4,500 EUR/month.

The selected fellows are expected to be appointed in 2023 and 2024. A first networking event is scheduled in Berlin. Fellows will work at the Campus Adlershof of HU Berlin and the IOP Zhongguancun Beijing Campus. The fellows have the possibility to visit and interact with associated Partners at the Max Born Institute, the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin and its Electron Storage Ring BESSY II, the Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung or the Fritz-Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society.

A full list of participating groups can be found at HU Physics ( and the IOP website (

Exemplary fields and participating groups include Condensed Matter Theory: Prof. Claudia Draxl, Prof. Sheng Meng, Prof. Hongming Weng, Prof. Chen Fang, Prof. Xinguo Ren, Prof. Jiangping Hu, Prof. Zhong Fang, Prof. Tao Xiang, Prof. Matthias Scheffler. Ultrafast Laser Spectroscopy: Prof. Zhiyi Wei, Prof. Jianing Chen, Prof. Jimin Zhao. Photoemission Spectroscopy and Surface Science: Prof. Norbert Koch, Prof. Tian Qian, Prof. Xingjiang Zhou, Prof. Jiandong Guo, Prof. Jiandi Zhang. Optoelectronic Devices and Quantum Transport: Prof. Emil List-Kratochvil, Prof. Thomas Schröder, Prof. Guangyu Zhang, Prof. Yongqing Li. Scanning Probe Microscopy: Prof. Jürgen P. Rabe, Prof. Carlos-Andres Palma, Prof. Kui Jin, Prof. Shuheng Pan, Prof. Hong-Jun Gao. Quantum Information: Prof. Tim Schröder, Prof. Oliver Benson, Prof. Li Lu. Electron Microscopy: Prof. Christoph Koch, Prof. Xuedong Bai.


Commitment to a one-year research stay at IOP followed by a further year at HU Berlin. Special travel preferences will be considered.

A PhD degree in physics, chemistry, mathematics, or materials, obtained no more than five years prior to the application deadline. Previous international experience, such as conference talks and research abroad.


Applicants should send their CV and one publication (in PDF format), along with a cover letter and two reference letters to: Only candidates specifying two or more preferred host research groups in Berlin and Beijing will be considered.

First 2024 Program closing date: March 15 2024.


The decision announcements for the 2023 program are sent no later than 2 months after the closing date. Decisions will be made by a joint committee from IOP and HU Berlin. The HU Berlin and IOP specifically encourage qualified female scholars to apply.